Are you fed up with Twitter for various reasons, or wish to deactivate and permanently delete your account after being hacked and being blackmailed? Below are useful tips on how to deactivate your Twitter account.
You can deactivate your Twitter account via computer or in a mobile browser or app.
How to Delete your Twitter account on Desktop
- Visit Twitter.com and log in to your account.
- Select the More item on the bottom-left of the screen. On the mobile browser, tap your profile icon.
- Click on Settings and Privacy
- Tap on Your account
- Scroll to the bottom and tap Deactivate your account
- Go to the bottom of the page to find the Deactivate link to deactivate
There are some useful information on the page before you get to that link as well are description of what will no longer be viewable (your display name, @username, and public profile).
There are also links if you just want to change your name, use your current name with a different account, or download your Twitter data.
How to deactivate your Twitter account on Twitter App
If you’ve downloaded the Twitter app on your phone, make sure you’re logged in.
- Select your profile icon in the top-left corner and visit the pop out menu from the side.
- Tap Settings and privacy on the bottom.
- Select Your account at the top.
- On Your account page, select Deactivate Account at the bottom.
Permanently Deleting Your Twitter Account
- Your account will be permanently after 30 days following the deactivation process. During the 30 days, Twitter keeps your information before deleting it permanently.
- Your account will be no longer available and you won’t be able to restore it after it has been deleted.
- Once your account is deleted after the 30-days, your username will be available for registration by other Twitter accounts.
How to Restore My Twitter Account
- To restore your account, Sign in to your Twitter account and confirm you want to reactivate your account. This option is available to you during the 30-Days deactivation process only.
- After the 30-Days period, your account is deleted and your username will be made available for registration by other Twitter accounts.
How to deactivate my locked or suspended account?
To deactivate your suspended or locked account, kindly submit a request here.
You can also get help unlocking your account.
How to Download Your Twitter Account Data
- If you want to download your Twitter data, do that before deactivating. Twitter can’t send data from inactive accounts.
- Google and other search engines cache results, meaning your old profile and tweets may still pop up in response to search queries on occasion. However, anyone who clicks them will get an error message.