Full List: Institutions responsible for Charging E-levy

1 Min Read

The Ghana Revenue Authority (GRA) has listed the companies responsible for charging the controversial Electronic Transfer Levy (E-Levy) effective May 1, 2022.

According to the Authority, the entities assigned to make the deductions are prepping themselves to ensure that the new tax policy is implemented smoothly.

The Authority listed them as follows;

  1. Electronic Money Issuers such as MTN, Vodafone Cash, AirtelTigo, Zeepay, and G-Money.
  2. Payment Service Providers (PSPs) such as E-transact.
  3. Banks [Charges applicable on the digital system]
  4. The Specialised Deposit-Taking Institutions (SDIs) Eg: Rural and Community Banks

The Principal Revenue Officer and Head of the Project Management Unit also added that aforesaid institutions will serve as an intermediary, hence after the deduction, will transfer the funds to the consolidated account of the GRA within 24 hours.

“Once the funds are deducted by the charging entities, we require that within 24 hours, they remit that amount to the Bank of Ghana electronically,” he explained.

The GRA has announced that Salaries paid via Mobile Money will attract E-Levy following the implementation. It also said the E-Levy will affect only Senders.

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply